Client Login  |  www.norfolkbroads.com  |  Admin Area

East Anglia Transport Museum

Chapel Road, Carlton Colville, Lowestoft, NR33 8BL, United Kingdom

Family Days Out - Family Activities

Tel 01502 518 459




Visit Website Contact Facilities Images Street View

About East Anglia Transport Museum

Here you can see a unique project; the creation of a museum of street transport designed to show the development of mechanical transport over the best part of a century. The essence of transport is movement, so we are building a living museum where vehicles of yesteryear can be seen in action, where half-forgotten sounds of the past are brought back to life and where visitors can journey back in time by travelling on a few of the exhibits along the Museum's streets.

Many old vehicles seem ill at ease in a rural environment, so our aim is to develop a street scene of houses and shops, complete with authentic street furniture of bygone days, rescued by us from many parts of the country.

The Tramway

The museum is very fortunate to have a tramline that is relatively compact and easy to manage, whilst being long enough for our visitors to fully appreciate a ride by vintage tram. After travelling along the museum street, trams turn off onto our wonderfully atmospheric woodland tramline, terminating at Hedley Grove picnic area.

Visitors may return to the museum on either the same or another tram, or take a leisurely stroll along the woodland path, from where unique views of the trams in a woodland setting can be seen.

The Trolley Bus Route

On 10th January 1971 history was made when London Transport trolleybus 1521 was the first of its kind to run under trolleybus overhead in a museum anywhere in the country. Now the museum circuit is probably the most complex of its kind in the country, in terms of the number of possible movements constrained by overhead wiring. In July 2008 the amount of roadway available for trolleybus operation was almost doubled, allowing a circular route around the site to be taken.

Additionally, the museum has always been known among enthusiasts as the 'home' of the preserved London trolleybus, with No's 260, 1201 and 1521 in residence.

The museum is open on various dates throughout the spring and summer seasons from April to September each year. there are various special events that take place on selected weekends during the season. For details of these weekends please call.

If you wish to contact us with an enquiry then please call 01502 518 459
Email: [email protected]

Facilities

General Services

  • 5 Star Rating

Car Parking

  • Free Parking
  • Pay & Display Parking

Accessibility

  • Disabled Friendly
  • Guide Dogs Accepted


This information is provided by the advertiser. We cannot accept responsibilty for any incorrect information published by the advertiser.